economy

WHY ROBIN?

Written AUGUST 12th   4:30 am

You brought so much joy, laughter and sometimes tears to so many people why Robin?

I just could never understand why someone with so much going for them, a great career, money, a beautiful wife and kids. I just don’t know

When my wife and I came into de apartment from an evening out,  I sat on my favorite chair and flipped on the big screen with the computer to check the stock futures on CNN and CNBC, there it was biggest life saying Robin Williams dead at 63 of an apparent suicide.

I sunk back on my chair and the words just came out of my mouth OH no! I don’t believe it! Cecilia my wife said what happened? I told her the news. She said maybe he got a bad medical report.

When I was younger my first wife would hurry and get the kids in bed early so we could watch Mork & Mindy (uninterrupted) all we did was laugh.

I can see why anyone will commit suicide over a lost love, over lost money. I lost everything I had three pieces of real estate, a corvette, a custom van, they were a beautiful house at Rego Park, a beach house near the ocean and a nice apartment in Manhattan. Some of my friends said if I lost of those things I will probably commit suicide. I said I missed them,  these things, but they are only things!

I think if I lost one of my children in a sad way that might make me commit suicide but not things. I think that if  Robin knew how much joy and good feelings he brought to people or if he just knew how much he was loved he would not have done it.

What I can say? …. Nanu nanu…. Shazbot…

Probably I spelled it wrong. I am getting few emails complaining about my spelling and grammar. Let’s put this to rest. I write the article, read it to my wife and the she types it. My wife is a beautiful Peruvian woman inside and out but she barely speaks English. I barely speak Spanish most of the time is like the I LOVE LUCY SHOW around here. I don’t got grammar and I don’t got good spelling and I don’t write anything before.

The longest thing I ever wrote in my life was a writing assignment from my 6th grade teacher, a nun at Saint Rita’s Catholic great school in South Philly. She said Mr. Anastasi tonight you will write 100 times I MUST NOT LAUGH AT THE TEACHER I love all the nun at Saint Rita’s they all are good people but when i saw her white habit which never lay flat on her chest because she was so fat would bounce up and down every time she spoke loud or coughed and this always make me laugh.

Whenever she saw me the only thing she said with an attitude:” Mr. Anastasi you walk around this school like you own the place”  She just didn’t like me. What can I say?

Now ….going back to bussines….

AUGUST 20th WEDNESDAY MORNING

This is what pissing me off I woke up this morning i wnet to my email my home page , it is yahoo naturally i love the stock market so the first I hit is the finance page and the headline is saying about this is a well-known market analyst who says that the Dow could be at 6,000 in the next two or three years.

What I am missing? I don’t see the value in a prediction like this anything could happen in 2 or 3 years.

Did you ever go to a fortune teller? I did once just out of curiosity and one of the things she told me that my constant wish for money well soon come true and she was right I am always wishing for money and almost everybody wishing for money. Three month later I won 50 dollars in a NY lottery.

Was her prediction true? Yes. But was I happy? NO

Another thing she said was that soon I am going to see somebody that I would like to fall in love with.

Well,  I am a leg man and in the winter time when is cold and the girls are wearing heavy coats I would fall in love once a week. In the summer time when the weather is nice I would fall in love once a day, sometimes twice a day because I took the subway to and from work. Both of the fortune teller predictions were correct. Wow. Well they were vague statements. I don’t know maybe is because I was a trader and had to predict every hour of the day which way the market was going for the next hour.

This sort of vague talk is psico bubble to me.

I rather have a guy be able to tell me with some amount of confidence what the market will do in the near term, which is three to six month out, so I can make a decision now.  And if he is wrong my natural tendency is to cut my losses at 10% and try to let my profits run as long as possible.

Example: years ago when I live in Florida we are talking 8 or 10 years ago I said to one of my boys:  “Did you hear about Netflix?  They are going to start home delivery and pick up of movie videos. Netflix was trading at 4 ½ dollars” I forget which son I mentioned it to and he didn’t talk me out of buying Netflix but he did say with a slightly negative attitude that he enjoyed going to Blockbuster or any video store for that matter and enjoyed browsing at all the movies on the shelves. So I said to myself “It is his generation that is going to be doing most of the purchasing at the video stores.”

Needless to say his response was vague. Not a definitive yes or no and the thought process left me without a decision.

I don’t like that indecisive feeling which is why the article stating that the market could go down to 6,000 leaves me undecided.

Does it mean that I should jump in with both feet and buy the market for the next year? And then get out of everything for the next 2 or 3 years?

I don’t know I am confused!

continue……..

Standard

Leave a Reply

